Strange Notes

Strange Notes - Fridays in July & August from 9:00 - 10:00 PM

“Your fix for punk, rock, and the occasional pop tune.”

Strange Notes


Strange Notes, originally called Songs of the Black Hole, is Ellenville’s new punk rock radio show, produced by an EHS alumnus, “The host with no name” (his name is actually Tommy Shadd, but you probably haven’t heard of him anyway). Each show contains a featured album. The show starts and finishes with the album’s respective first and last songs. Throughout the broadcast are three special segments, which include “Wild Card,” “Choice Cuts,” and “Lightning Round.”

Wild Card
The first segment, at roughly the fifteen minute mark, is called “Wild Card,” in which a single song of any genre is played. As an avid music consumer, my tastes range wildly from pop to metal to ska to folk. Although Strange Notes is primarily a punk show, “Wild Card” gives me an opportunity to play some of my favorite songs that simply neglect the broadly-defined boundaries of punk music.

Choice Cuts
Decidedly the most prestigious segment, “Choice Cuts” airs in the middle of the show to broadcast select songs from the featured album. The amount of songs played during this segment, as well as the exact time when the segment is introduced, varies on a show-by-show basis.

Lightning Round
The final segment, introduced around the forty-five minute mark, is “Lightning Round.” As punk music is typically shorter in length than most popular music, this segment features five songs in about five minutes.



Episode 1 (Original airdate July 6, 2018)

Featured album: Revolutions per Minute by Rise Against

  1. Rise Against, “Black Masks & Gasoline”
  2. Mind Spiders, “Cold”
  3. Face to Face, “Pastel”
  4. Lifetime, “Airport Monday Morning”
  5. Frightened Rabbit, “Rained On”
  6. The Lawrence Arms, “Are You There Margaret? It’s Me, God”
  7. Vanishing Life, “Forgiven/Forgotten”
  8. Radioactivity, “Alright”
  9. NOFX, “Fermented and Flailing”
  10.  Rise Against, “Like the Angel”
  11. Rise Against, “Voices Off Camera:”
  12. Rise Against, “Last Chance Blueprint”
  13. Rise Against, “Torches”
  14. Teenage Bottlerocket, “Summertime”
  15. Bad Brains, “How Low Can a Punk Get?”
  16. N.E.G., “Evolve”
  17. The Germs, “What We Do is Secret”
  18. Screeching Weasel, “Used Cars”
  19. Negative FX, “Negative FX”
  20. The Marked Men, “I Don’t Want It”
  21. Rise Against, “Amber Changing”

Episode 2 (Original airdate July 13, 2018)

Featured album: Fix My Brain by The Marked Men

  1. The Marked Men, “A Little Time”
  2. NOFX, “We Threw Gasoline on the Fire and Now We Have Stumps for Arms and No Eyebrows”
  3. Summer Twins, “Forget Me”
  4. Face to Face, “It’s Not Over”
  5. The Men, “Gates of Steel”
  6. AJJ, “Randy’s House”
  7. Mayhem, “Deathcrush”
  8. La Luz, “Sure as Spring”
  9. Masked Intruder, “Saturday Night Alone”
  10. Lifetime, “Haircuts & T-Shirts”
  11. The Marked Men, “Wait Here, Wait for You”
  12. The Marked Men, “Sophisticate”
  13. The Marked Men, “Fix My Brain”
  14. The Marked Men, “You Said Enough”
  15. The Marked Men, “Don’t Look at Me”
  16. Descendents, “Ride the Wild”
  17. Rotten Mind, “Slaughterhouse Refugee”
  18. Mind Spiders, “You Are Dead”
  19. Bad Religion, “Slaves”
  20. The Teen Idles, “Get Up and Go”
  21. Minor Threat, “Stand Up”
  22. The Distillers, “Girlfixer”
  23. Screeching Weasel, “More Problems”
  24. La Dispute, “Said the King to the River”
  25. The Marked Men, “Stay Home”


Episode 3 (Original airdate July 20, 2018)

Featured album: Warning Device by Teenage Bottlerocket


Episode 4 (Original airdate July 27, 2018)

Featured album: True North by Bad Religion


Episode 5 (Original airdate August 3, 2018)

Featured album: Masked Intruder by Masked Intruder


Episode 6 (Original airdate August 10, 2018)

Featured album: I Don’t Want to Grow Up by Descendents


Episode 7 (Original airdate August 17, 2018)

Featured album: Silent Kill by Radioactivity


Episode 8 (Original airdate August 24, 2018)

Featured album: Protection by Face to Face


Episode 9 (Original airdate August 31, 2018)

Featured album: Inhumanistic by Mind Spiders